Skip to content

Geography of Thailand


Thailand covers a total area of 513,120 sq. km in the Indo-Chinese Peninsula. The country has a varied landscape ranging from low mountains to fertile plains to sandy beaches. 

As observed on the physical map of Thailand above, fold mountains dominate the country’s landscape to the north and west. These mountains extend southward (in a narrow strip) along the Burma border to the northern edges of Malaysia. As marked on the map by an upright yellow triangle, the highest point of the country is Doi Inthanon whose summit peaks at 8,451 ft. (2,576 m).

To the northeast is the Khorat Plateau. It is a region of rolling low hills and small, shallow lakes, drains into the Mekong River system on its border with Laos.

The Chao Phraya River basin lies in the centre of the country. The Chao Phraya River, which flows for 231 miles (372 km), is home to some of the most historically significant and densely populated settlements of Thailand; the river and its tributaries drain into a delta south of Bangkok. The southeast represents the maritime corner of the central region. 

Along Thailand’s southern peninsula (Isthmus of Kra) the land fades into mangrove swamps. Numerous islands are found off the coastline, with Phuket being the most famous.

Provinces Of Thailand Map

Thailand (officially, Kingdom of Thailand) is divided into 76 administrative provinces. These provinces are further subdivided into districts and smaller subdivisions. There are two specially governed districts – Bangkok and Pattaya. 

76 provinces (changwat, singular and plural) are as follows: Amnat Charoen, Ang Thong, Bueng Kan, Buri Ram, Chachoengsao, Chai Nat, Chaiyaphum, Chanthaburi, Chiang Mai, Chiang Rai, Chon Buri, Chumphon, Kalasin, Kamphaeng Phet, Kanchanaburi, Khon Kaen, Krabi, Lampang, Lamphun, Loei, Lop Buri, Mae Hong Son, Maha Sarakham, Mukdahan, Nakhon Nayok, Nakhon Pathom, Nakhon Phanom, Nakhon Ratchasima, Nakhon Sawan, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Nan, Narathiwat, Nong Bua Lamphu, Nong Khai, Nonthaburi, Pathum Thani, Pattani, Phangnga, Phatthalung, Phayao, Phetchabun, Phetchaburi, Phichit, Phitsanulok, Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya, Phrae, Phuket, Prachin Buri, Prachuap Khiri Khan, Ranong, Ratchaburi, Rayong, Roi Et, Sa Kaeo, Sakon Nakhon, Samut Prakan, Samut Sakhon, Samut Songkhram, Saraburi, Satun, Sing Buri, Si Sa Ket, Songkhla, Sukhothai, Suphan Buri, Surat Thani, Surin, Tak, Trang, Trat, Ubon Ratchathani, Udon Thani, Uthai Thani, Uttaradit, Yala, Yasothon

With an area of 20,494 sq. km, Nakhon Ratchasima is the largest province and the most populous one as well.

Bangkok (Thai: Krung Thep), the capital and the most populous city, is located in Central Thailand. 

Where Is Thailand?

Thailand is a country located at the center of the Indo-Chinese Peninsula in Southeast Asia. It is located in Northern and Eastern hemispheres of the Earth. Thailand is bordered by five countries. Myanmar to the north; Laos to the north and east, Cambodia to the east, and Malaysia to the south. The Gulf of Thailand and Andaman Sea lie to the south and west of Thailand respectively. The country shares its maritime borders with Vietnam in the Gulf of Thailand in Southeast; and Indonesia and India on the Andaman Sea in the Southwest. 

More about geography of Thailand:

Published inAdminThailand

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *